60 hours and the effects

This is what 60 hours of not sleeping looks like!

Well I have just come off the back of a 60 hour stint with no sleep thanks to the insomnia.  (The pic above is me after one of these kinds of stints) It is a very strange experience when you start getting to that point and things become a lot more confusing and the effects are not unlike being a bit drunk.  The scary thing is that I found I was able to do some of my University work and it wasn’t complete nonsense!

I managed eventually to get some sleep though and it happened so quickly I can’t really remember dropping off.  I have also found though that I cant really remember what happened yesterday or what I did apart from the Uni work as it is written down.  Maybe this blog is the start of a good habit and I should start noting down the events of the day when I haven’t slept.  I wonder if it would make good reading once I am ‘sober’ again.

I still haven’t really got to grips with the whole blogging idea and I will probably take a while to get used to it and I hope it doesn’t bore the pants off any you folks reading this but it is something that I feel I should do and if it just gets things out of my muddied mind and on to the page then it may clear the way for some of the information I want to keep in there.

So the agenda for today is to recover from the sleep ‘hangover’ and get this essay written for my exam so that my module is finished and then I might be able to indulge in my hobby of woodcarving before I start the next modules in August and October.

Until next time Stay Safe!

2 responses to “60 hours and the effects

  1. Welcome to the world of blogging. I’ve been scared before by how disengaged I am when I’m sleep deprived, but 60 hours is a looong time. Do you then sleep for a long time or is it just in short bursts?
    I’m looking forward to reading more x

    • No unfortunately I don’t sleep for a long time afterwards it is generally 7-8 hours if I am lucky. The worst thing is the physical side effects that come after a long period awake like that but I will blog about that maybe tomorrow when I finish my university work 🙂